Plate Wall

I really think the dining room is becoming one of my favorite rooms. I hated the dining area in our old apartment. The laundry closet was right off of it and the kitchen was immediately on the other side. There wasn’t enough room and there really wasn’t any flow. Such is the life in an apartment I guess. Now that we have more room in our current dining area I feel a lot more confident i decorating it.

lovelucklorelai78 lovelucklorelai79 lovelucklorelai81

I have enough room for a china cabinet that I received from my Grandmother and there is enough room on the other side of the table for a buffet! Such a big improvement from apartment living where you can barely squeeze four chairs around a table. I am planning on purchasing a buffet or dresser off craigslist and refinishing it on the blank wall. Which brings me to this project: The Plate Wall.

Of course, this was inspired by something I saw on pinterest. You can see a couple of them here and here. My thought was to take the plate wall and add a buffet to use as extra entertaining space. I still haven’t found a buffet to my liking, but hopefully it will come around soon.

The first step in the plate wall was to collect plates for the wall. This was a lot harder than I thought it was going to be. I found plates from my house, flea markets, thrift stores, and Anthropologie. It took me about 3 months to find 8 plates that I really liked. The next step was finding a way to secure the plates to the wall. There are really two different options when it comes to plate hanging.

There is the wire hanger: this has four grippers that fit on the plate. You can then use the metal frame in the middle to hang on the wall.

916189

This one is an invisible plate hanger: you stick the yellow part to the plate and the metal ring at the top is what you hang it onto the wall with.

IMG_0019

They were both about the same price, so that didn’t sway me either way. I really liked the idea of the invisible plate hanger. The metal plate hanger grippers can still be seen from all angles, so for me it wouldn’t be aesthetically pleasing. I bought 8 of the 4″ invisible plate hangers. They are for use with plates up to 12″ in diameter. None of my plates were that big or heavy, but I liked the extra peace of mind with the 4″.

It was really easy to apply them. You wet your fingers and then rub them on the back of the adhesive disk. Once the glue is a bit tacky you apply it to the back of your plate. Let it sit overnight to fully adhere and you are good to go!

To hang the plates on the wall the first thing I did was find the center. My wall happened to be 8×8, so the middle was easy to find. From there I figured out how far up, down, left and right I wanted the plates to be spaced on the wall. I winged it when it actually came to hanging the plates on the wall.

After we had them all hung, we slammed the doors and jumped up and down to make sure they were all secure on the wall.

lovelucklorelai82 lovelucklorelai83 lovelucklorelai80

I really feel that when I get the buffet in there the room will feel almost complete! I am in love with this buffet from my pinterest page. The blue is a bit off from what I have going on, but I feel like it is a good start.

Here is where we started:

House 30

And here is the current state:

lovelucklorelai85 lovelucklorelai86

To Do List for the Dining Room:

1. Paint

2. Plate Wall

3. Stain Table- I really want this table. So I’m thinking after I stain the one we have now it can go in the basement as a game table.

4. A new light fixture- I’m in love with drum shades, so naturally I was attracted to this shade.

5. Add a buffet in a fun color under the plate wall.

6. Rug for under the dining table.

We are making progress people!

–L

Leave a Reply

