Growing Bulb Flowers in a Vase

I’ve seen many places over the internet that have advertised growing bulb flowers in a vase. The idea is that you can cut the flowers off and keep regrowing them, essentially having fresh flowers in your home year round. Winter has been especially harsh this year, so I’ve been missing things of color. Even though they always die, flowers to me are a thoughtful gift that I always appreciate. So, after El Hubs gave me a gorgeous arrangement in an even more gorgeous vase, I decided I needed some life brought back into the house.

lovelucklorelai60

 

How amazing is this vase? I’m so excited to use it again and again!

I don’t have the greenest thumb, so this is definitely a test to see how long I can keep these things alive.

The first step in this process is to gather your supplies:

lovelucklorelai61

 

I used Tulip and Crocus bulbs, bought at Lowes. For my filler I used sea glass from Michaels, and then 2 vases that I already had at the house. The total was $15, but if you need to buy vases you need to account for more.

The next step is filling the vase about a 1/3 of the way with the filler. You can use marbles, rocks, or like I did sea glass. It all depends on how you want it to look.

lovelucklorelai62

 

From there add the bulbs in, with the pointy side facing up. I did one vase of crocus and one vase of tulips, but if you wanted to you could mix them.

lovelucklorelai63

 

Then add fresh water to the vase, but make sure it does not actually touch the bulbs. You don’t want to submerge them in water.

lovelucklorelai64

 

See how on mine the water is just barely not touching the bulbs? Aim for that, or even a little less water.

Put the vases in a sunny window and wait for them to grow! You should see roots sprouting within a couple days.

lovelucklorelai65

 

I’ll let you know how mine turn out! I’m excited at the prospect of having some life in the house! It seems that winter has finally let up here, and we are actually in the high 50’s and low 60’s this week! I know Gizmo is especially excited about the warm weather, he has been spending a lot of time outside lately chasing the squirrels. I know a lot of us were starting to get cabin fever from being cooped up in our houses for so long, I know I am planning on taking full advantage of the warmer weather!

-L

Leave a Reply

