No Soda for Me

I’ve recently stopped drinking soda. Its been a tough battle so far. There have been many days where I’ve looked at my co-workers and said something along the lines of “I would cut someone for a Dr. Pepper.” And I would have if it had come down to it. Dr. Pepper is my go-to soda. Heck, its my go-to drink anytime of anywhere.

6077e00ebe9922292bf8b21840266fddI got to the point where I was drinking 3-4 sodas a day. I cut back around the summer of 2013, I told myself only 1 a day. That did not work for me. When I would get stressed out I would just say, I will have 2 today instead of 1. Then 2 turned into 3 and so forth. So I’ve decided to completely stop drinking soda.

Now, I’m not completely crazy. I have not cut out caffeine, I still have a cup of coffee in the morning to get my fix. If I were to stop caffeine altogether I’m pretty sure you would find me in the fetal position on the floor. And then I probably would cut someone. The first couple weeks of no soda I was drinking 3 cups of coffee a day. I realized I was just replacing soda with something else, so I’ve cut back on that. One thing that has helped me is to pack snacks for throughout the day. I was getting about 1,000 calories a day from drinking soda, so my body is still used to that. I’ve started bringing apples, oranges, almonds, and yogurt to work with me so that I snack on those things before I pour myself another cup of coffee.

I’m at a little over a month now, and the hardest part at this point is water. The first few weeks of no soda weren’t too bad. I drank a lot of water and was constantly running to the bathroom to pee (seriously, it was like 10 times a day). Now, water has become a bit boring for me and I started drinking less of it. So to keep it interesting I have started putting lemon in my water. If I get bored with that I might switch to berries.

I have seen an increase in my energy levels, and I have been sleeping much better at night. I would like to start exercising more and overall become more healthy. None of this has to do with losing weight, it has to do with how I view my health. I think most everyone knows that soda is not good for you. Most people just really do not care, and I will admit I was one of those people. I valued the sweet taste of my Dr. Pepper over my health. One of the people in my life who I have seen this directly benefit has been my friend Chelsea. Several years ago Chelsea started clean eating and doing yoga. She became a vegetarian, which I will not do, but I do think that I can take her experience and apply it to myself.

One of the things that has kept me true so far is to be really honest with myself. Instead of giving in and having a soda, I have asked myself “Do I really want a soda or am I just hungry or stressed?” Most of the time it is because I am stressed. So I have learned to recognize those things and make a better decision because of it.

-L

Leave a Reply

