Thankful for Thanksgiving

Hi Friends.

 

Its been a while. I know I know. I was slacking on the blog posts. Thanksgiving snuck up on me! As I’ve said before, my family goes camping every year for Thanksgiving. Now most people would label us as crazy. Its cold, we don’t shower, and we sleep in tents/trailers. For me though, it is such a great time to unwind, un-connect, and just enjoy my family.

 

The land we camp on is my Great Great Grandparents land. It is in the middle of nowhere Arkansas, and it is amazing. The picture below is of the original barn on the property. My siblings and cousins played in the loft when we were little, rehearsing plays, or making some concoctions from some random berries.

2013Thanksgiving11

 

Here is my awesome family that camped this year! My Cousin, Uncle, Dad, Mom, Me, Dave, Brother, and Grandma .

2013Thanksgiving1

 

We had a great time! We hiked through the woods, went four wheeling, and did some target practice. Dave has only shot a gun a couple times before this, so everyone thought it was hilarious that I was a better shot than him. 🙂

2013Thanksgiving31

2013Thanksgiving34

 

This is when we went hiking through the woods. The woods were clear cut about a year ago, so it was full of brush and briars. Let me tell you traipsing through briars is not the most fun thing. Good thing we all had our Carhartt’s on, otherwise we would have been torn up! Dave even got decked out in Carhartt and orange. I have to say I find it pretty attractive. Maybe its the Jeffco in me 😉

 

lovelucklorelai56

How beautiful is this? The pine trees and open space. I wish I could live here and still be somewhat close to civilization. But back to reality…

2013Thanksgiving16

My brother and his dog Maui. Maui is a Pit Bull/Border Collie mix. She is so lovey and cuddly. She gives the best puppy kisses.

2013Thanksgiving10

This was my favorite shot of the weekend. The pond at camp. This picture totally captures how peaceful and awe-inspiring nature is. Truly one of God’s greatest creations.

lovelucklorelai57

 

I tried doing a some long exposures of the night sky, but I couldn’t get any shots that were what I was trying to capture. I think that is going to take some practice. Here is one half-decent shot I got that does not even compare to what the sky actually looked like.

2013Thanksgiving3

 

This weekend was a great reminder of how thankful I am for all the blessings I have in my life. My God, my family, friends, my job. Too many things to count. I hope you all had a blessed Thanksgiving.

On to Christmas!!!

–L

Leave a Reply

