Holiday Handcrafting

This year I’ve decided to go the DIY or handmade route for Christmas gifts. I’m really excited about it.

I started on the gifts for my nieces- MacKenzie and Morgan this week. I am making them puppets to play with. I found the templates online here at liagriffith. Lia Griffith is about all things handcrafted. She has ideas for everything! I could spend hours and hours on her website! And these Woodland Friends Puppets are super cute. I finished the owl the other day:

photo

 

I’m really excited to get started on the Rabbit and Bear to go along with the Owl. After I finish those I will start on another project for the girls– Felt Toy Horses. I also found that at lia griffith-you can find it here.

I think handcrafting all these gifts automatically attaches memories to the gifts. The girls will have these gifts for years to come, and they can tell their friends that their Aunt made them. I love stuff like that. One added bonus to DIYing a lot of gifts is that most of them are pretty inexpensive. The materials for the puppets cost under $5! And the Toy Horse material was under $10. Gotta love that! I’m all about saving money all while still giving something worthwhile.

My favorite part about the Holidays is the time spent with family and friends. It is a crazy busy time, but it is always filled with love and laughter. My family always goes camping for Thanksgiving (I know we’re crazy!) and I am super excited for the four days we will spend together- 4 wheeling, playing board games, talking, just sitting around the fire. Its the best! The Hubs birthday is also right before Thanksgiving and I have a special trip planned to St. Louis for it. Dave never spends money on himself, or really does anything for himself, so planning a secret weekend for him is really fun!

I’m looking forward to sharing updates of some of the gifts I’m cooking up- some I won’t share on here because I don’t want to ruin the surprise for some people! Until next time!

 

–L

Leave a Reply

