Jewelry Storage

I love jewelry. Love it. The problem with that is that I have a metal sensitivity. It sucks. I break out in

this nasty blistery rash if metal is in contact with my skin. Metal sucks…it really really sucks (I picture

that scene from The Waterboy- Water sucks it really really sucks and then there is some arguing about

h2o vs Gatorade…) Some metals are worse than others- nickel for example will create a reaction

within minutes. Others the reaction takes a little bit longer, but it is never fun! I think because I am not

supposed to wear jewelry it makes me want to wear it more. Although, it usually results in a week or

so of nursing my poor ears or fingers back to a non-blistery state. I am also supposed to stay away from

certain foods (high acid foods, dark leafy greens, grains, and nuts). Food doesn’t spark an automatic

reaction, but I can usually tell when I’ve been eating too much of the “bad stuff”- I don’t sleep well, and

I usually start getting a rash on my forearms and hands. The hard part is that I love all of the foods that I

need to stay away from- such is life…sigh.

The main reason for this post is jewelry! I have a little jewelry armoire that sits on my dresser, but I

have a bunch of necklaces that are too long for the armoire and tend to junk it up. It is perfect for my

shorter necklaces, rings, and earrings. It even has this nifty little “caddy” that sits next to it for my dangly

earrings to hang on so I can easily pick them out.

lovelucklorelai19

lovelucklorelai20

In our old apartment I made this handy “hanger” for my long necklaces. It took me a bit to get it up

in the house, but I finally checked it off my list. It had been sitting on my dresser since we moved in! I

made it from a wooden plaque I got from a thrift store. It was just plain wood, so I drilled two holes in

it and screwed in two knobs I picked up at my local Hobby Lobby (50% off yo!). Then I whipped out my

paint brush and some silver paint and painted the whole thing-including knobs. It took two good coats

to cover. I put a picture hanger on the back so I could hang it. Pretty simple process.

lovelucklorelai21

lovelucklorelai22

I really like that it is hung behind the jewelry armoire. I can easily access it and all of the necklaces are

visible for easy choosing. I had a couple birds (you can view that post here) that I almost hung on the

wall across from the dresser that I decided to hang above the jewelry hanger. I think it turned out nicely.

Yay for cute organization!

lovelucklorelai23

lovelucklorelai24

lovelucklorelai28

While I was re-organizing my jewelry I came across some crystal costume jewelry my Grandma gave me. I had forgotten about it. It is so beautiful. As I get older I appreciate these gifts more and more. She has these wonderful stories about everything. I was reminded of a pearl necklace she gave me when I graduated from high school. It belonged Grandma’s sister’s, my Aunt Clara. It was originally part of a very long strand of pearls that my Grandma had divided into three necklaces- one for me, my twin sister, and our older sister. Every time I wear it I think of my Grandma and Aunt Clara. It brings back precious memories.

lovelucklorelai25

lovelucklorelai26

lovelucklorelai27

I love collecting items that have a history, especially when they come from my own family. My Mom has researched our ancestry  for years, and I know she has the same love for history and family heirlooms as I do. I am thankful that she taught me the value in keeping things in our family.

I am working on a blog post featuring a family photo-shoot I did last weekend. That should be up sometime next week. I hope you all are having a fabulous week!

Leave a Reply

